"Any woman who wants to stay beautiful needs to diet every day of her life"

Is there anybody more ignorant than Samantha Brick? I wish she’d hit herself in the face with the object mentioned in her surname. The 42 year old self-proclaimed “beautiful” journalist published an article today titled “Joan Collins is right. Any woman who wants to stay beautiful (like me!) needs to diet every day of her life.”
Any time I read something this woman writes I find it difficult to contain my anger.
The article begins with Brick confessing to binning a box of expensive French chocolates, given to her by a friend she had invited over to dinner. Well this is enough evidence for me to prove that Brick isn’t a nice person. It also makes me wonder how she has any friends left to invite to dinner. The only explanation must be that they are as vacuous as her.
She then goes on to explain that she has been on a permanent diet for the past 30 years. She denies herself cakes, chocolate, sweets and other fatty foods. And her reason? Because “men like slim women.” This is a very generalised statement and not altogether true. Different men like different sizes of women and if a man can’t see past your size, then he isn’t worth being with anyway. Mind you, Brick obviously has a terrible personality and so this must have left her with no option than to use her looks to try and attract men. Her current husband has even told her that if she puts on weight, he will divorce her. Must be true love then…
Although Brick has been as small as a size 8, she is now a size 12 but still describes herself as “thin” and “beautiful”. Although size 12 is an average, healthy size it is not what exactly what I’d describe as thin. And sorry, love but you aren’t that good-looking. The fact that you’re extremely arrogant as well, makes you even less attractive.
I cannot begin to imagine what my life would be like if I denied myself the same foods as Brick. Chocolate has many health benefits; it releases endorphins, is proven to help towards a healthy heart and can even prevent diabetes. Eating sweet treats and fine foods is one of life’s simplest pleasures so when you think about it, it’s no wonder Samantha Brick is a miserable cow.
In a world where young women are under constant pressure by magazines, TV, film and online advertising to be thin, Brick is adding to the problem. At least 1.1million people in the UK are affected by an eating disorder. I find it mind-boggling that in a first world country, where there is plenty of money and food, there are people starving themselves out of choice due to the stress put on them by society.
I am no stranger of the pressures to be thin. I think it is something every woman goes through nowadays at least once in her life. What you have to realise though is that people come in all shapes and sizes and it’s important to find a happy, healthy medium which isn’t too much on one side of the scale or the other. As long as you are comfortable in your own skin then there will be people who love you and they will love you for the right reasons, no matter if you have cellulite or “wobbly bits” (both of which are perfectly natural).
Both Nigella Lawson and Gillian Mckeith are 53. One eats what she likes and the other basically only eats rabbit food. One looks beautiful, healthy and happy and the other looks like a skeletal pensioner. The link there, I’d say is pretty clear. You do not need to diet every day of your life if you want to stay beautiful (and I’m guessing here that Brick’s idea of beautiful is not being fat). I am a size 10. I eat what I want and I don’t do ridiculous amounts of exercise and I’m fine with my shape.
As long as you’re happy and healthy and have everything in moderation, then it doesn’t matter what size you are so don’t let an ignorant bimbo try to convince you otherwise.
x
Leave a Reply

